Happy Thanksgiving open thread: what are you thankful for?

Happy Thanksgiving from all of us here at S&R. Today we invite those of you reading (and really, don’t you have anything better to do?) to tell us what you’re thankful about.

I’ll go first. While I have much to be thankful for – a wonderful wife, the coolest dog alive, etc. – I find myself really appreciating the fact that for the next four years I won’t have to hold my breath every time the president opens his mouth. I won’t have to worry about his inability to speak in complete sentences, about whether or not he’s going to make up some new words, about whether he’s going to say something insanely stupid and embarrass us even further in the eyes of the rest of the world.

I’m thankful that, whatever mistakes and bad decisions he will make, Barack Obama is at least intelligent, articulate, witty and self-possessed.

Your turn.

12 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving open thread: what are you thankful for?”

  1. Ha! I don’t have anything better to do at the moment (someone else is cooking today).

    As always, I’m thankful for the people who love me.

    But this year, I am thankful (to the point of weeping) for the Americans who voted for the future on election day.

    At a truly pivotal moment not just in our nation’s history, but in the history of the modern world, we had two choices. We could cling to the past — and endorse fear, loathing, and small-mindedness. Or we could face adversity and embrace the future rather than hide from it.

    We made the right choice.

    (It’s icing on my turkey that Almost-President Obama is also smart, thoughtful, actually, gasp, reads and, hey, he’s a writer, too. It doesn’t get much better than this!)

  2. Good Lord, i’m just thankful that i don’t have anything better to do today. I’m bummed that i’ll be missing out on my favorite meal of the year, but it can’t be helped.

    So i’m thankful that i’m not in the middle of BFUP, soaked with sweat and melting snow, trying to dig to the base of a Christmas tree trunk before i can blindly shove the chainsaw down there and hope that i hit (and only hit) the trunk. After which i’ll have the supreme pleasure of dragging the tree through three feet of snow to a point some hundreds and hundreds of feet away where it can be loaded on the trailer. Getting 300 trees onto a trailer and driving what looks like the Grinch’s loaded sled an hour over snowy roads isn’t all that much fun either. And of course, every tree must be thrown and dragged one more time in town.

    My last 7 days have been running to 12 hours of soaked, cold, exhausting labor. I started by thinking of writing material, but quickly gave up…i replaced thinking with making up field hollas and singing them whenever i had the breath to do so. (i’d reproduce some of them, but they are, at best, offensive and often vulgar)

    I’m also thankful for my B-day present (a few days early): the compact OED! Not only does it contain 21,000+ pages of lexicographical bliss (magnifying glass necessary), but it’s heavy enough to use as a weapon in the worst case scenario.

  3. The compact OED was my husband’s first anniversary gift to me. No one understood the joy except us…

    Personally, I’m thankful that Sam doesn’t know how much better my dog is than his. His heart would crack.

  4. Russ, i just replaced E with UP in the acronym BFE…UP being short for Upper Peninsula, Michigan’s. I did manage to hash out a funny thing that occurred on one of the cutting days, to be seen by clicking my name. Fair warning, i was too tired to edit. And you’re welcome. Thanks for the thanks.

    Ann, the greatest book in the world, no?

    And i didn’t miss the meal; in fact, i got to eat a turkey that one of my friend’s raised.

  5. As I sit here preparing for my 7 month deplyment to Iraq (or Afghanistan, you never really knwo until you get there) I am thankful for every day I get to spend with my wife and kids. Thankful that I get to share in the ups and downs of their lives. And thankful that we have a relationship that can endure despite long periods of separation.

    I also like reading S&R….one of the best things that happened to me this summer was stumbling across this site.

  6. I’m thankful for the the fact that the ghost of Adam Smith is still alive and well in America. I’m thankful that this country is still the best place in the world that one can, with ambition, be as successful as their abilities will allow. I’m thankful for the First Amendment, and that although we can be on other sides of the aisle, we all share a common desire to make this country a better place. Our philosophies may differ, but we’re still all Americans, and put this country first, and that makes me thankful. Finally, I’m thankful for the bounty this great country has to offer.

    Jeff

  7. And on a more serious note, I am thankful for people like Bob, who can embrace duty, loyalty and sacrifice with an independent mind, the courage to question himself and the generosity to see the humanity of those who differ. Bob, be as careful as you can be, please, and come home to that family – I’m sure they know how lucky they are to have you.

  8. Thank you, Ann. I nearly typed something to that effect, but the words got jumbled. You said it beautifully. Stay safe, Bob. I’m thankful for sharing a nation with men like you.

  9. i’m thankful that people like Bob do what they do so that people like me can do what we do. i’m thankful for having a mind that lets me ask questions, and for living in a country that lets me ask. i’m thankful for having a student who’s working her ass off to graduate this spring. i’m thankful for still being able to run a sub 21 minute 5K at 39 years old. i’m thankful for having friends in colorado that put up with me even when i slip into conservative don quixote mode. but most of all, i’m thankful that my parents live in hawaii so i can go there every year for the holidays. 🙂

Leave a Reply

