SMU to host the George W. Bush Presidential Liberry

It’s official, more or less:

The decision became official as SMU’s board of trustees approved an agreement with the Bush Foundation, which will manage construction and raise money for the project, expected to cost more than $200 million.

This has to be the most ironic moment in the history of either presidents or libraries. I mean, you’ll have a copy of the Bible and My Pet Goat. What else? And $200 million?! Sweet fancy Jesus, are they going to build the place out of solid platinum?

[sigh]

Now that this task has been accomplished, we need to get to work finding homes for some other presidential memorial facilities.

  • The Richard M. Nixon Center for Political Ethics
  • The John F. Kennedy & Bill Clinton Center for the Study of Marriage and the Family
  • The Ronald Reagan Institute for Marxist Research
  • The Franklin Delano Roosevelt School of Dance

Did I miss anything?

16 thoughts on “SMU to host the George W. Bush Presidential Liberry”

  1. Pingback: www.buzzflash.net
  2. But SMU is the PERFECT place for the Bush Library. Check out this description SMU students give of the school (from princetonreview.com):

    The typical SMU student is described largely as “upper-class, White, and wealthy—though looks can be deceiving.” That said, many note that SMU could use “more diversity” and “Atypical students can feel left out.” Another student claims that the school has “a huge mix of students” though “you have to look hard.” One unifying factor? All things “Dixie.” “Every student here seems to know the words to Dixie,” explains a student. “You’ll see Rebel flags alongside Texas flags in all the dorm rooms. But it’s more of a statement of the genteel Southern style of living people appreciate. Everyone is Republican . . . and very conservative.” Though many agree that a majority of students “come from high-income households,” SMU is a “dynamic community” that manages “to offer something for everyone.

    In fact, the typical student is described as “sporting a Greek affiliation” (and they don’t mean the nationality). The Greeks serve as the nexus of social life and account for a large “sense of community” among students. In short, writes one Greek student, “We run this place. Everyone who is anyone is in it. Tailgating wouldn’t happen without us. Homecoming wouldn’t happen without us.”

    In other words, a bunch of frat boys and sorority girl social-climbers (“everyone who is anyone, ya know”), all Republican, Texan, and singin’ Dixie.

    George and Laura to a T.

  3. JS:

    I would have enjoyed SMU, as I enjoyed a good party during my college years. I have some friends who went there, and they loved the place….. they weren’t even Republicans or Greeks.

    Speaking of Greeks…..I always thought that being in a fraternity was one of the things that kept me reasonably sane during college.

    Jeff

    Jeff

  4. Jeff: I was a proud Greek myself, although when I arrived at Wake Forest I was so vehemently anti-fraternity I couldn’t have imagined joining one even at gunpoint. The problem was that, like SMU, EVERYTHING was organized around the Greek system, so if you wanted girls to talk to you (I did) then you better be in a fraternity.

    It wasn’t the ideal way of doing things, but after several dateless months I decided, like Mohammed, to go to the mountain, as it were. And I had a pretty good time from there on out….

  5. Slammy & Jeff – I went to Penn State because, even though they claimed to have the biggest Greek system in the country while I was there, the school was SO big that I could still have a social life outside of a fraternity. I turned down two better engineering schools precisely because I would have had to join a frat to have any social life at all (that and one of the schools was 95% male and they all dated girls from the university 30 minutes down the road).

    When I started undergrad, I felt that there were frat boys and sorority chicks. And my frat party experiences did nothing to correct that perception – until I met a number of guys in a fraternity my junior year. That’s when I realized there were frat boys and guys that happened to be in a fraternity just as there were sorority chicks and girls who happened to be in a sorority, and while every frat/sorority I encountered had some of both, there were definitely more of one kind or another in any given house.

  6. Jeff:

    Like others, I was also in a fraternity, and I did it to get rides to local girls’ schools where I figured the girls might actually be desperate enough to talk to me … even if only for a moment.

    Tastes differ, of course, and I was trying to let SMU students speak for themselves instead of giving my own impression of the place, built from some consulting work there and a couple of acquaintances who attended.

    My impression of SMU is that it’s a place for rich kids, who have never worked a day in their lives, to go to run up a $200,000 bar tab for Daddy to pay. If you’re not from the right family, then you’re not “somebody.” When you graduate, Daddy will get you a job. Actual talent, work, and knowledge are unnecessary. The clothes you wear matter … a lot.

    Like I said, a great place for the GWB library.

  7. JS:
    There’s nothing wrong with nepotism. If my kid wanted a real job, I’d send him to see a cousin or uncle who could hook him up. It really is who you know:)

    Jeff

  8. Jeff:

    We’ll have to disagree about nepotism. To me, it just means that incompetent, lazy people get job that competent, industrious people deserve.

  9. JS:

    If you had a kid that was marginal, and you knew that there was no way in life that he could take care of himself, would you throw him to the wolves, or would you make sure he was taken care of?

    Jeff

  10. Sure, Jeff, but let’s look at the question from the other direction. Say you’re the father of a fantastically qualified kid who gets denied opportunities because he’s losing jobs to well-connected marginal kids who can’t take care of themselves.

    And at a slightly broader level, which of these two hypothetical companies are you going to invest your money in?

  11. Dr. Slammy,

    I’m not referring to well connected kids, but just the kid of the everyman.

    As for what company I’d invest in, it depends on which company’s stock was doing better. Sometimes, the market doesn’t care about nepotism…..look at Murdoch for example.

    Jeff

  12. Jeff:

    I try never to make recommendations that don’t benefit both parties. So, no, I would never recommend a child of mine for a job that would not benefit both the child and the employer. If I had a marginal kid, I’d assume that kid could find a marginal job.

    Not somewhere on a bank’s board of directors somewhere.

  13. JSO wrote: So, no, I would never recommend a child of mine for a job that would not benefit both the child and the employer.

    That’s well said, JS. After all, failing to do that got us GWB as a President, didn’t it?

  14. Hey Jim:

    I replaced a hard drive on one of my computers and lost your e-mail address. I have some major tunage to send you that I KNOW that you’ll appreciate. If you still have my e-mail address, send it to me, and I’ll send you some files.

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

