Ron Paul: what might have been

Howie Klein has an interesting take on Ron Paul and the GOP over at Down with Tyranny, noting the antipathy between the Paul and McCain camps and wondering how much this is going to hurt the Republicans in November.

He also notes that Paul is pulling back from the Prez race to concentrate on securing his Congressional seat against a primary challenge from an unapologetic Bushie named Chris Peden. Peden’s website does little to defend him against allegations that he’s an inbred semi-literate fuckwit in need of a good editor, and contains a variety of intriguing notions.

My name is Chris Peden. I’m a Pro-Family, Pro-Life Christian conservative who believes in free markets and individual responsibility.

I’m running for Congress because it’s clear that our traditional values need a proven conservative voice in Washington, D.C. In essence, we need Republicans to vote like Republicans again.

Praise Jesus. Because if there’s anything that’s in short supply in Washington, it’s Christians, people who care about families and people willing to stand up and defend our nation’s under-fire corporations, most of which are on the verge of extinction. And I think I speak for everybody when I say we’ve all had enough of all those Republicans who vote like Marxists.

He also thinks that:

[the] “people who live in District 14 actually deserve an elected representative who cares more about looking out for their interests in D.C. than trying to persuade a bunch of dope-smoking, Kucinich-loving college students in Seattle that America’s problems are the result of a flawed monetary policy controlled by a wealthy and secretive elite.”

If you’re the sort who thinks stupid people are here to provide entertainment for the intelligent, then you have to be wondering if it’s too late to get Peden into the presidential race. This could make for some good TV.

*ahem*

Anyhow, I still wonder about the implications of the Paul 3rd-party run that he now promises isn’t going to happen. I’ve written before about how some progressives are attracted to Paul for his stances on Iraq and civil liberties, and since the Democratic nominee might well be somebody vulnerable on those kinds of issues I find myself wondering who he’d hurt worse.

While I suppose we’ll never know for sure what would have happened (unless Paul reverses field), one thing is for certain. The idea that the Dem nominee for president might be vulnerable on the left from a Libertarian Republican simply hurts my head.

12 thoughts on “Ron Paul: what might have been”

  1. Pingback: www.buzzflash.net
  2. I think what will happen with the Paul movement is that it’ll fracture back into the various groups and factions from whence it came. The disgruntled independents will settle back into cynical passivity that “politics is broken” and probably sit the election out. The progressives backing Paul will probably get behind Obama, as while he is not nearly as anti-Iraq war as Paul was (Scary thought, eh?), he’s definitely more so than Clinton or McCain.

    The anti-tax loons will probably rally to Huckabee, and the hardcore Libertarian geeks will go back to endless screeds about how agricultural farm subsidization and smoking bans are the greatest threat to freedom and democracy today.

  3. It’s shocking but for once I actually agree with something that Martin had to say. The temp down below must have reached absolute zero some time last night.

  4. As a Paul fan, I have to say my support will go to Obama. As far as the Paul “movement” I think it may be here to stay. I don’t think the younger demographic is dedicated to parties. Paul and Obama both have a large following among younger people. I have seen more Obama sites dedicated to “Money Bombs” which I haven’t seen before Super Tuesday. I believe that Obama is a lot of people’s second options, even some consertatives.

  5. I hit the submit button too quick.

    As far as the Paul “movement” I think it may be here to stay.

    I personally feel that we may see a reshaping of the party, even though Paul is a religious man, he doesn’t really wear it on his sleve. I hope that the GOP will shift to a less theocratic base.

  6. I agree about the head hurting scenario concerning Dr. Paul, Dr. Slammy.

    Maybe, just maybe, he got enough airtime for some conservatives to take a step back and honestly compare their conservative beliefs with the party that is supposed to represent those beliefs.

    Darrell has a good point about younger people and party affiliation; maybe two generations like that can get down to some fundamental political business in the near future. Like contemplating proportional representation.

  7. As a republican I DEFINITELY hope my party divorces itself somewhat from the theocratic model it has held the las few years and returns to where it belongs. As for Paul I’m glad we aren’t really considering electing such an out of touch loon.

  8. That should have been LAST few years and the comment should have ended with we already have enough out of touch loons in office now, including the current loon occupying the white house.

Leave a Reply

